The Movie Wish List. . .

  I’m finishing up preparations for The Fantastic of Ten. So I’m bringing you a guest post from The Dash Mane.. Introduced on VSB and a fellow blogger. 

 The Film Wish List: Directed By The Dash Mane

At one point in his life, your “Friendly Neighborhood Dash Mane” dreamed of being an auteur. I had plans of combining the sardonic wit of Woody Allen with the baroque imagery of Federico Fellini. My style would be singular, my awards would be plural, and above all else The Based God would be pleased. * Cue The Violins *

 

 

But like many dreams, my fantasies of sitting in the director’s chair became deferred. Dried up like a raisin in the sun. It was replaced by the idea that I should devote myself to the ascetic life of hobo philosophy. Well luckily for the readers of this here blog the heavy load of my director’s dream deferred will explode upon the pages of Nick@Nite. Here are three media properties I would Tyler Perry if given the opportunity.

 

The Glory Field by Walter Dean Myers

 

The Glory Field is one of my favorite required reading texts from high school. If I were the kind of person who used the term underrated, I would drape that title over this novel. It does not even have it’s own Wikipedia page. This may be my favorite novelized “Black Family Epic”, just barely defeating Gloria Naylor’s “Mama Day”. The appeal of this property is its scale. The story spans several generations, and therefore has a place in it for every single talented Negro actor in Hollywood. If a script for this book were produced, the agents of Cicely Tyson, Lauren London, and 50 Cent would all be in a rush to get their clients auditions. If I were to direct it the result would be a mix of Monsoon Wedding, Get On The Bush, and Mi Familia.

 

 

Space Channel 5 Dreamcast

Space Channel 5 is hands down one of the best pieces of satiric media of the past 11 years. It is a tongue-in-cheek indictment of the mainstream media, the mania surrounding illegal immigration, the dangers of over-reliance of technology, and the liberating qualities of music. Bonus point for SC5: It features Michael Jackson as a character. A live action movie based on this property this property has cult classic written all over it. It may only have modest box office returns, but it has a lot of potential to make a mint with merchandise tie-ins. I would lift the visuals from Speed Racer and pair it with a soundtrack of Michael Jackson remixes produced by Ed Banger Records, to create this generation’s “Rocky Horror Picture Show”.

 

 

 

James Cameron’s Dark Angel

James Cameron of Dark Angel introduced television viewers to a dystopian cyber-punk future and Jessica Alba. The source material is rich, and provides writers with a lot of room to play. Unfortunately for fans of the show, the writers lost their way during the midpoint of the show’s run. A valiant effort to reclaim the spark that initially made the show could not save it from the chopping block. The show was canceled whilst hanging from a cliff, and replaced by Firefly. I have been bitter about the cancellation for years, and if given the opportunity I would resurrect the show in movie form. The fans of Dark Angel need closure. I need closure.

 

The Little Red Hen

The Little Red Hen holds the distinction of being the first book I ever read, and thus holds a special place in this shotta’s heart. This entry into my filmography requires a great deal of imagination. The Little Red Hen on it’s surface is a simple story with a simple moral, but after I get my hooks in it it will be much more. There will be a love triangle that is complicated by one of her pursuers being the father of her child, who has returned after living on another farm  for years.The resultant strife caused by two cocks fighting for The Little Red Hen’s hand, and for primacy of the barnyard causes the farm to choose sides. War seems to be eminent, and it is up to The Little Red Hen to navigate a world full of the jealous, hungry, wretched refuse yearning to breath free, fry or fertilize her eggs, and eat her cornbread. This 3-D animated gem will win a goon multiple Oscars.

This is the part where I ask you about your dream projects. What book or other media property would you like to see up on the big, or small screen?

    The Dash Mane is a dynamic individual and  who can be summed up by this Roddy Piper quip: “Just when they think they have all the answers, I change the questions.” He blogs here: Click Me

Comments
9 Responses to “The Movie Wish List. . .”
  1. I remember watching the first few episodes of Firefly but never kept up with it. After seeing Serenity I went back and checked out the DVD’s and it was a solid show, but Fox hates solid shows.

    Dark Angel would be a great film because the larger budget would improve the scope of things.

  2. gemmieboo says:

    very interesting concept. i guess since films based on a novel tend to not quite do the novel justice, i cant think of any books off top that i want to see on the silver screen. mostly because i cant remember half the books i read since they’re so few and far between (what? im a grad student! no time!)

    altho, i do think there have been a lot of good films made based on their books (in their own way)–Devil Wears Prada, The Secret Life of Bees, The Notebook

    so i guess the one movie id love to see (and potentially help make) is A Thousand Splendid Suns.

  3. nicknotnikki says:

    All I can think of off the top of my head is the God of War video games.. I’m a SUCKER for greek mythology, and that video game series was GREAT!!! I know it would cost an astronomical amount to make, but that’s besides the point..

    I don’t know how they’d so it, but I also liked the Sly Cooper and the Thievius Racoonus.. I really don’t know how they’do it.. but that’s not what they pay me the big bucks for..

  4. CHeeKZ Money says:

    excellent post. This is what me and my comic book friends sit around and do all day….

    My list was easy to come up with

    1)Full Metal Alchemist
    2)Death Note
    3)The DC Comic limited series: Identity Crisis
    4)Paradise Lost

  5. *OnlyYolie* says:

    I would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to see Octavia Butler’s works put into film especially:Parable of the Sower, Parable of the Talents, and Fledgling.

    That along with her Xenogenesis book series which I honestly think would make a great series for HBO

  6. sanen85 says:

    Dark Angel (and later T:SCC) is a contributor to why I don’t watch a show until it’s fourth season anymore (after catching up on 1-3 on DVD). The only other way I will watch on DVD later is if I hear it had a solid end to the series. Firefly is one of those shows and I can’t say I’m sorry FOX took a chance (albeit really small) chance on it.

Leave a Reply

