The Cosby Show

   “Nostalgic Fridays” – let’s go..

    I could just show you a pic and say “go!” and the whole place would talk about the greatness that is “The Cosby Show.” But that’s not what we’re doing here.

   The Cosby Show IS the show that NBC banked on every Thursday. It wasn’t television if it was Thursday and The Cosby Show wasn’t on. I’m not sure what tv was like before Cosby Show came on the air. It ended over 12 years ago, and it STILL comes on. There’s no reason for my tv to ever be without it.

   98% of the time Cosby Show was a guaranteed laugh. It was one of the few shows that my mother would let me watch (strict, FTW!) and it was the reason that I ran home from after-school to make sure that my homework was done in enough time to watch it. I remember wondering how they were gonna switch up the opening music every season. How cute Theo had gotten, and why Clair wore makeup to bed. (Inconsistency is not cool with me)

    In homage to The Cosby Show, I wanted to present the episodes (or lines) that are my favorites. The lines that make me nostalgic. *sigh*

    1.  Theo says that he just wants to be a regular person. Monopoly money comes into play and the fact that “I’ll get by on bologna and cereal.” “Theo, that is the DUMBEST thing I ever heard!” I still say this quote to this day! I love this episode.

   2. Clair wants to lose weight and works out with Debbie Allen. (WIN!) The way that Clair cramps in the middle of the night makes me GUFFAW everytime! The first time I ran miles for the marathon, that’s how I was on the couch the next day. With my crippled lookin legs.

   3. The Halloween episode with Clair dressed like Tina Turner and Vanessa and Robert. Robert was SO CUTE!

   4. “Real World Episode” Theo says that he can survive in the real world, so Cliff turns the house into the Real World. Rudy is the bank manager, and Clair runs the Furniture City store. “Yes I am Denise, Denise Farquar, Millie’s daughter, NOW PAY UP!”

   5. Vanessa got drunk! “chug a lug”

   6. Elvin and Clair FTW! “And if you don’t get it together, and drop this macho attitude. You are not gonna have anyone servin you, anything, anytime, anyplace, EVA!”

   7. Denise makes the Gordon Gartrelle shirt! “DENIIIISE!!. . . my arms are the same length, why aren’t my sleeves!?”

       (trivia: watching the credits in later seasons, Gordon Gartrelle was the name of someone who worked behind the scenes on the show. Kadeem Hardison (Dwayne Wayne) was Theo’s friend in this episode too.)

   8. Cliff tries to sleep in, goes downstairs and sees Denise sitting with some dude watching music videos.. “I said, Eh Mon!”

   9. When the kids sleep over Sondra and Elvin’s. Fail all around.. Making pizzas in the toaster oven? You fail at being human.

  10. Theo’s prom. Helicopters and Hair. Adam Sandler was in this episode.

   11. The episode that ends with Cliff and Clair on the couch. He brings out cakes, and she shoves an apple in his mouth. For a lot of us, this was the first time that we’d heard, “In A Sentimental Mood” by John Coltrane. Until later, it was just “that nice song that they played in the background.”

   12. Vanessa and girls “do the locomotion.” They can’t sing and they go get lessons. Is this the episode where Vanessa stuffed her bra and Clair goes., “I definitely detect some growth!?” I think so.

   13. Vanessa goes to Baltimore to see “The Wretched” and gets stranded. “No, you had to go see ‘The Wretched’ and the big fun.”

    14. Slide is trying to get Pam to have sex. Charmaine says that her beloved Lance has not gotten any pooty-tang. The way Charmaine said it was PRICELESS!

   15. Cliff goes to Rudy’s tap dancing class. CHALLONJ! (I still say this too)

   16. Vanessa and Jeremy are out all night. Cliff and Clair turn the couch around so that they’re the first thing that she sees when she gets home. The way Rudy tried to lie for her in this episode, is usually how I am when I’m lying. Which is why I don’t do it. “JEREMY, are you OKAY!?!?”

   17. Cliff dances for Denise’s friends in the living room. The way he flung Clair on the couch and then ran and tried to stomp on her head was great! (Blair Underwood was in this episode. Yum)

   18. I LOVE the look on Theo’s face when Mrs. Westlake comes over his house. She looks pretty, then they’re sitting on the sofa, and she starts putting her hair in the bun. Next time you see that episode, watch Theo’s face when he realizes she looks like a teacher again.

  19. The family singing for grandparents’ 50th wedding anniversary.

  20. The first time they broke out and sang for the grandparent’s 49th wedding anniversary! “You know the nighttime, is the right time.” The feeling associated with the first time I saw that episode is priceless. We had never seen anything like it.

   Now, it wasn’t all roses because there’s some episodes that I don’t like. When Cliff dreams that all the men are pregnant, when everyone acts out this story that Rudy wrote. Those can stay on the cutting room floor. But for the most part, The Cosby Show was consistent.

    I already know that there’s some greatest moments that I missed. Cliff and Clair Huxtable were so cool. I wanted Theo to be my boyfriend. I wanted Denise to be my sister. They made being a black family look like fun. It wasn’t until I got older that I realized just how embedded in culture Bill Cosby was. Not until I picked up a Betty Carter cd and saw that was the woman who gave Vanessa her singing lessons (please listen to “Open the Door”) Not until I started ballet did I realize that the woman dancing in Cliff’s living room was Judith Jamison, a prominent person in the Alvin Ailey Dance Troupe. When Cliff is trying to get rid of Elvin, he brings over a date for Sondra, who later turns out to be Denise’s husband, Martin. (don’t try to slip anything past me) The fashion is the only thing that might date the show, but everything remains the same. The same way that great hip hop never gets old, is the same way that I can watch The Cosby Show and it’ll never be stale. (Unless one of the bad episodes is on) It will always be dope. Nuffsaid

   What are your memories of The Cosby Show? Your favorite episodes? End your workweek on a laugh and a high note. Tomorrow is Saturday! Be happy.

   Peace and Love, Nick

Comments
18 Responses to “The Cosby Show”
  1. Cheekie says:

    Girl, this took me BACK! Well, then again, not that far back because as you say it still comes on. And yeah, I do have to sit and watch it if I catch it event today. Especially if it’s one of my favorite eps. And girl, you already got my fave eps down pat! The Gordon Gartrelle, The Theo Real World, The Drunk Denise (I still admire the way they taught her a lesson…it was the best thang evah!!), The CHALLONJ, The Ray Charles lip-singing, OMG…NOT the “I say eh Mon!” YASSS. Man I’d probably write out your whole list if I don’t stop now. lol

    “I remember wondering how they were gonna switch up the opening music every season. ”

    The different credits were probably my favorite part of the series. They just looked so fun. Hell, that family looked like they had more fun than anyone I’d seen…evah. Their impromptu lip-singing fests alone made me want to be in that family, on the real.

    “For a lot of us, this was the first time that we’d heard, “In A Sentimental Mood” by John Coltrane.”

    LOL, not I said the cat. My mama is a jazz-head (and hell, I’m from the Chi…no Black family from here didn’t grow up on it lol) so I was up on that early on. I loves me some Coltrane.

    My favorite was Rudy of course. I LOVED her relationship with Bud…though iI definitely a huge crush on Stanley…man, I still can’t believe dude is dead. He was FOINE. And when I was little, everyone always said I looked like Olivia (Raven Symone)…LOL…ok.

    “When Cliff dreams that all the men are pregnant”

    No? This is one of my FAVORITES. When Cliff gives birth to that hoagie, I still crack the eff up to this day. The way he hollers is pure comedy. I was just talkin about this episode with my coworker, actually! lol

    Another fave is when they meet Stevie Wonder (because I ADORE him) and get to go to his studio. I still reference “Jammin on the One” to this day. lol

    Thanks for writing this, Nickster! I love this series. It’s amazing how much you learn that we all have so much in common even though we live so far away from each other.

  2. 13. Vanessa goes to Baltimore to see “The Wretched” and gets stranded. ”No, you had to go see ‘The Wretched’ and the big fun.”

    This my favorite episode and Claire Hanks Huxtables finest hour. The kid knew that they really screwed up when Claire and not Cliff did all the talking. “…but you went to Baltimore to have Big Fun!”

  3. Steph says:

    You NAILED it on this post! Got me even looking forward to the 3-4am hour to catch the re-runs on Comcast cable channel 3! These days, I find myself watching the episodes from teh parental perspective and justifying things I do with my kids and take notes on how to deal when certain things happen. Some of our peers have taken to call my little family unit the Cosby’s, and well to me, that’s a freakin honor!

    You got all my faves down here too! I don’t think people realize how educational this show was, Bill Cosby managed to expose millions of us young black youth to art and jazz that we still hold onto today! Kudos Nick on this one.

    Follow up with a blog paying homage to A Different World? I got the dvd sets for all those seasons…

    • nicknotnikki says:

      Yeah.. My Different World post is in the works.. but I don’t wanna eff it up, so I gotta make sure it’s right..
      I still remember when you got those disks.. you know, you can make copies for me.. I even got the blank DVD’s!! COME ON STEPH!!

      • Steph says:

        Oh girl well then I sense a lovely evening of some wine and food and burning of those dvds while watching them of course in the very near future!!! I’m so serious. Can’t go wrong with food, wine and Different World. Tell me whats your schedule’s looking like and let’s make it happen!

    • nicknotnikki says:

      That would be GREAT!! I’ll be free next week.. I’ll get to you with a particular schedule on Monday!! *Sigh*
      Absolutely perfect!
      Thanks babes!

  4. I was always a fan of the episode when the men became pregnant. It confused 5 year-old Dash.

  5. Capricorn says:

    One of my favorites was when Martin’s mom comes to visit and Claire thinks she doesnt like her child.

    When they went to the resturant for Rudy’s birthday

    The Real World “Because you have NOTHING!!”

    Vanessa fighting because her parents are rich. “No, your mother and I are rich. You have NOTHING!”

    The men being pregnant. Theo’s car!

    Theo gets his ear pierced.

    Denise choosing Hillman.

    And the anniversary episodes!! I crack up erry time I see it.

    And I can’t WAIT for the ADW post!!

  6. BP says:

    My fave is the tap dancing episode! I still laugh when I see it come on the channel named after you.

    Another favorite is the Ms. Westlake episode. Her glasses were huge and I hated math as a kid too. LOL.

    Oh and I always loved how Clair would say “Shut up” in the most loving way.

    Awww, I want to be a kid again. Not really. Kinda.

  7. MsEsquire77 says:

    I have a lot of favorites but I love when Sondra decides to not pursue law and open the wilderness store. Claire asking for their money back for her education is priceless!

  8. Little Miss Sunshine says:

    Hands down my favorite episode is when they teach theo the value of money and set the whole house up. Strip him of his furniture- makes him pay for meals. Classic.

  9. Starita34 says:

    To do:
    Find something to watch Friday night. CHECK! Watching a Cosby marathon. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    Loving this…great memories…and Capricorn quoted my favorite episode Vanessa says that things would be easier if she just wasn’t rich and Cliff hits her with “YOU are not rich, your mother and I are rich! YOU have nothing!”

    I quoted some Cosby lines to the kids that I work with and they didn’t know who the Cosby’s were! e_O #Jesuswept

    Have a great weekend!

    *resumes watching the Huxtables*

  10. Great post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I
    am impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the closing section 🙂 I take
    care of such information much. I used to be looking for this particular information for a long time.
    Thanks and good luck.

Leave a Reply

