A Totally 80’s music post. . .

  It’s Friday: Let’s get nostalgic. . .  

    To say that I grew up in the 80’s in an understatement. I was 3 years old when Mtv first premiered. I spent so much time watching Mtv that my mother called the cable company and tried to get the channel blocked. Mtv was everything. Matter of fact, to me, 80’s music is everything. And since it’s Nostalgic Friday, and there is almost nothing that can guarantee a smile from me like 80’s music, I thought that I would list my top 10 80’s songs.

   And yes, I’m fully aware it’s not R&B. But I guarantee you know at least one.
  This ain’t in any particular order, so back off. And yes, I realize that you don’t have to share my opinion. That’s cool too..

1. Everybody Wants to Rule the World- Tears for Fears

    I don’t know what it is about this song. But honestly, this is in my top 3. There’s a rhythm to the way the words are sung that’s embedded itself in my happiness. I’m so serious with that last sentence I can’t even explain.

2. Dress You Up In My Love- Madonna

   I know this broad deserves her own category. She busted the 80’s wide open. I remember moms wouldn’t let me watch the”Like A Virgin” video. I had the jelly bracelets and a lace skirt. This song makes absolutely no sense. Wait a minute, “from your head down to your toes,” yeah, I can spin it and make it nasty. But still, it’s catchy. It even inspired a Gap Commercial.   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dbp6G9yQcWk and YOU LIE if you tell me those commercials weren’t DOPE!

3. True- Spandau Ballet

  It’s a great song, what more is there to say?

4. I Need You Tonight- INXS

  I’m not gonna lie, there’s something “behind the melody” on this song that sounds very “hunter-like.” The way the main dude sings the song sounds very much like a “predator/prey” type of situation. And I like that. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, listen again and you might hear what I mean.

5. Tainted Love- Soft Cell

  I think there isn’t a funnier line than, “once I ran to you, now I run from you.” And if you’re at a house party (or in the car) and several people are singing along, you’d be hard pressed to find someone that doesn’t go, “OHHH, Tainted Love!” It won’t happen. Especially not if you’re around me, cuz I gets loud.

6. Every Breath You Take- The Police

  This song is a stalker’s anthem. But the way it’s sung makes people think that it’s ok. Which just goes to show you that the British can pretty much say anything and their accents will make it not cause for a restraining order.

7.  Take on Me- A-Ha

  You can’t think about this song without remembering the video. That video was. . . There are no words. At that time, no one had ever seen anything like it. And I just remember thinking “that’s so cool.” I’m convinced that there isn’t another man alive that can hit the note on “I’ll be gone. . .” (and whatever the hell he says afterwards.)

8. Angel is a Centerfold- J. Geils’ Band

  To this day, I still know all the words. I can remember the video. I can do the little bop dance that they did in the video while they were carrying the books. The song is straightforward. Guy had crush on girl, years later, girl is in dirty magazine. Nuffsaid. I like the way the songs comes back in towards the end. And WHO can forget the whistle? I don’t know anyone that can do the whistle the way it was done in that song.

8. Faith- George Michael

  I automatically know what song it is when I hear the guitar. This is a “sing along” song. There really isn’t anything else to say.

9. Come on Eileen- Dexy’s Midnight Runners

  Other than the actual chorus, you cannot tell me what these fools were saying. But dammit if the song don’t pop! “Come on, Eileen Teloura-eh.” What does that mean? I tell you what it means. It means they can look like “whatever” in overalls and laugh all the way to the bank. (As long as the song kept playing)

10. Rock the Casbah- The Clash

  This song makes me move. I’m not sure of all the words, but ask if I care. It’s so catchy, it’s been sampled. And you cannot make me believe that you don’t like it. You need more people.

   There you have it. Yes, as I glance down at my notes I know that there’s some other greats that I left off. But don’t you worry, I might bring around a part 2. Because 80’s music gives me good feelings. And I think that since this is my blog, if I’m feeling good, then it might come across in my writing.

  What great 80’s songs did I leave off? And don’t worry, R&B will have it’s turn. I mean that 80’s music with the funky instruments and the weird hairstyles. Them one hit wonders that VH1 loves to do countdowns about. That 80’s music.

   Have a great Weekend.. I know I will! If for no other reason than my radio station does “totally 80’s weekend.” Happiness shall follow me Saturday and Sunday.

  See you Monday. (Hopefully, on time)

  Peace and Love, Nick

Comments
9 Responses to “A Totally 80’s music post. . .”
  1. Great list! 1,2,4,5, & 6. Are all great songs Nick

    Dress You Up was one of Madonna’s best songs to me. I still remember the GAP commercial from a few years ago. I’m a Police stan so “Every Breath” is a fovorite of mine too. Best stalker song ever.

    My 80’s dopeness:

    Purple Rain – Prince

    Why You Treat Me So Bad – Club Nuveau (sp)

    Sign Your Name – Terence Trent D’arby

    Mr. Telephone Man – N.E

    In the Air Tonight – Phil Collins Yes, this song is cliche at this point but it is still hot.

  2. max says:

    This list is BAWSE. But I’m mad you don’t have any Duran Duran in it! Hungry like a Wolf wins!

    Madonna does deserve her own category but I have to throw in Holiday. That song….gives life.

    • nicknotnikki says:

      I looked at my list and realized that I left off Duran Duran.. I was gonna catch em the second time around. For madonna, it was between “Holiday” and “Cherish”. I love the Cherish video with the mermaids.. *Sigh*

  3. Capricorn says:

    Duran Duran–Rio

    ANY Thriller video

    Janet Jackson — Control

    Millie Jackson — Centipede (this is just me, I loved that song)

    the Jacksons — Torture

    Other than that, the list ROCKS!!

    • nicknotnikki says:

      The Jacksons- “Body” is one of my faves.. It doesn’t get a lot of play, and it took me FOREVER to find it..
      Good call with Centipede..
      Janet Jackson’s Control album was the first cassette tape I ever owned.. GREAT Addition. . . I can’t even lie, Janet Jackson needs her own list too. . Me and her go way back..

      Thanks for commenting! Your #BrownTwitterBird slays the hell outta me..

  4. sanen85 says:

    I still have Faith and Tainted Love on my Zune. LOL

  5. I love, love, love your list. I was a super 80s/MTV kid too. I so badly wanted to embody the 80s, that at one point I wanted to be Madonna and Lisa Bonet simultaneously. Speaking of Madonna, you’re one of the few people that appreciates Dress You Up. I performed this song for my 5th grade music class. I studied the video intently (which wasn’t an official video, but actually a concert performance)and selected a classmate to be my dance partner. Don’t even get me started on Wham! and George Michael…chile.

Leave a Reply

