Aww sweetie, I didn’t ASK you for all that!!

First of all, I want to say “Mother Nature is a wretch..” she rolled thunder and lit lightning all weekend, and like man, she was all bark and no bite.. #fail make up your mind, mother nature, I’d appreciate if I could plan out my weekend..

Florida weather isn’t what’s hot on the streets, althought it IS hot on my block…
                                    
now for our regularly scheduled post..
__________________________________________________________
I’m a simple person. I know you think I might be making a biased statement (because I’m talking about myself) but it’s the truth. It doesn’t take much to make me laugh, or smile, or be happy. It’s the little things, and I appreciate them. But i’m getting the feeling that not everyone believes me when I say, “no really, keep it simple.”
I’ve been noticing something lately. There’s a new phenomena called “initiative” that has crept into my interaction with people. I thank people that have initiative. They are go-getters, self-starters, and I appreciate you going above and beyond.
However….

I remember when I had a job and something that I thought was fabulous would backfire. I would stand there, in a Charlie Brown “good grief” pose and think “initative isn’t always a good thing.” Not a lot of people have gotten that memo. It’s hard to realize when in fact, the more you do what I don’t ask you for, the more I want to punch (slap, kick, shank) you. The more I want to say, “I didn’t ASK you for all that!” The more I don’t want to deal with people.
Don’t know what I’m talking about? I was hoping you’d say that, I shall give you examples!
walk with me now…
      
                    Exhibit A….
I’m on my way back from a house cleaning gig. It’s me and the co-owner of the company in the car.
Him: “I’m stopping at Wendy’s, what do you want to eat?”
Me: “Oh, they have that $2.99 meal with the chicken sandwich, that’s perfect for me.”
Him: “You can’t eat that little thing and be full.”
Me: “Oh, trust me, that’s perfect for me.”
Lady: “Welcome to Wendy’s, can I help you?”
Him: “Let me get a number (whatever) LARGE with a Fruit Punch.”
Me: “Who is that for?”
Him: “You.”
I have a problem with this as the meal that he ordered was the two patty hamburger meal and CLEARLY not what I asked for. And WHO, on God’s green planet told you that I would prefer that as OPPOSED TO what I actually wanted? I thank you for trying to upsize me, but THAT ISN’T WHAT I ASKED FOR!
Needless to say, I did NOT enjoy my meal, took one patty off the burger to save for later and couldn’t even finish the sandwich. Suppose I was allergic to beef? What the stink are you doing? I don’t eat a lot in one sitting, so what I actually asked you for would’ve been FINE with me. Loser….

Exibit B..
I had a VERY unfortunate experience in Maryland last year (which I will blog about at a later date, it’s a series). I specifically told my friend that I was as free as the breeze as long as I got to the Smithsonian. I had gone to the Smithsonian in 2008 and wanted to go back. I LOVE history, love museums, and since it’s free, I LOVE the price. I even said that I would come in town early so that I could be free to wander as I like, visit Chinatown and ESPECIALLY Georgetown.
On Saturday, my friend takes me to breakfast in Adams Morgan and tells me to get dressed, that he’s taking me to Six Flags. (umm).
*you can already guess where this is going*
Needless to say, a fight erupted at Six Flags, and he makes a note of telling me how much the tickets were. I’m looking at him like, “Did I ASK you for all that!?!?” I understand going above and beyond, but please note, that’s NOT what I asked for. And should you decide to NOT do what I asked you for, then please don’t throw it in my face when it doesn’t work out like it should.
             (do we remember that the Smithsonian is free?)
   Turd…
  I understand what he was trying to do, but did we remember that ALL I wanted to do was go to the free museum…..
   You know what I just noticed? The people that usually go above and beyond are usually the ones that don’t know me “like that.” I don’t get why people that hardly know me would assume that they know what I should want. My mother knows not to surprise me with a #1, extra cheese when a .99 cent chicken nuggets would suffice. I say what I mean and mean what I say. Yes, if someone is treating, I might take some things into consideration, but that’s not a reason to shift what I said. Why don’t you just take my word for it? At the end of the day, I’m looking at you like “what a flippin idiot.” I understand that I should just sit back and be appreciative, but how great is it if it’s something that brings me NO enjoyment? Is it possible that this hasn’t happened to anyone else? I usually think that the things that happen to me are very “Nick-specific” and couldn’t happen if someone had Diablo Cody* and thought them up.. Initiative can be great, but that’s reserved for very specific instances. I say you have to know your audience. And I can be the easiest audience you’ve ever come across.
  You just gotta listen and not switch sh*t up..
    And knowing is half the battle (G.I.Joe)
  Nick
      

Comments
3 Responses to “Aww sweetie, I didn’t ASK you for all that!!”
  1. I can understand their intentions, they just didn't hit the mark. I like to go above & beyond sometimes when treating my girl, but you got to know what she likes before you do it. Generally, girls are very particular and guys are not.I could understand if dude from Exhibit A bought you a larger meal with the same type of sandwich, at least with that you're getting what you want but more of it. A completely different sandwich though? Nah.Dude from Exhibit 2 was already at an epic fail for taking you to the Six Flags in Maryland, arguably the worst amusement park ever created. I hate that place. Plus, if I'm trying to chill with you, I feel like a museum would be better anyway. It's free, provides plenty of opportunities for conversation, there's a metro that can take us all over the city if we happen to get bored, did I mention it's free?Again, I can understand their intentions, but they just didn't hit the mark. Girls love it when simplicity meets a good design. If you can take something simple and basic and mold it into something that a woman enjoys, there's nothing better.

  2. MsEsquire77 says:

    This whole post boils down to people doing what THEY want to do for you instead of what YOU want/need them to do for you. Too often people do too much and expect you to be grateful instead of doing what was asked and making every one happy.Good post, Nick!

  3. max says:

    I so feel you on this. It happens to me a lot, especially when it comes to food. I'm a very picky eater and I'm very squeamish about eating in strange places (i.e. anywhere other than my home) so if I'm out somewhere I might just ask for "just some toast" or "just a glass of water". No one can understand why that's all I want…so in the interest of being helpful they'll spread some red pepper jelly on my toast or load up my water with all kinds of madness and I'm like "damn I ain't asked you for all that! Now I can't eat it!".I think it's a respect thing, personally. And I react the way you can imagine I would when I feel like someone does not respect my wishes.

Leave a Reply

