So Fine Let’s Rewind…

    I decided to do a series on Fridays. Since we’re going into the weekend and we like it light, I’m keeping it easy breezy. Every Friday, I’ll take something from the good ole days and talk about it. I figured it isn’t so hard considering most of us are around the same age. 

    Todays jewel is the inspiration behind this whole damn series. Thundercats.

    I’m sure I could Google and see when the series started, but I’m lazy. All I can say is that Thundercats is that gem of a cartoon that everyone wishes would be made into a movie, but nobody (in Hollywood) is willing to risk it because it’s like messing with the Mona Lisa (yeah, I said it) You know that there’s such a following that if it gets fudged up for the sake of money, they’ll picket director’s house. And this is AFTER they boycott the film. Thundercats is one of those “don’t you DARE say nothin bad about my cartoon” cartoons. I understand that this doesn’t mean that everyone likes it, but if you don’t, be prepared for me to say somethin bout you.

   I think we can all say that the reason why Thundercats rules (in my mind) is because I grew up with it. It takes me back to those summers where I sat in front of the tv all day flippin the channels between “The Box” (music videos) and whatever channel it was on.

   OK, I went to google. Thundercats came out in 1985, just when I was at the right age. Up until I was 20-something years old, my email was Cheetara. I still have a Thundercats shirt and was going to get the symbol tattood on my wrist. (I was young once) Cheetara was the first chick that rolled with dudes that I could relate to. I wanted to kick a bish’s ass like Cheetara. Matter of fact, I still do. She was the introduction to my fascination with Kitana (from Mortal Kombat) and Orchid (from Killer Instinct). I loved the fact that Panthro was as close to black as we were gonna get. His voice was black. (Earl Hyman/ Russell Huxtable) Not only that, but he drove that bomb-ass car! So you KNOW he was black!!

   My mother tried to convince me that Mum-ra was demonic. I told her, “yeah, and so?” and watched anyway.  I ran around singing the song. The broomstick was the Sword Of Omens.  And at the moments when my daddy wasn’t looking, I took the machete out of the shed and THAT was the Sword of Omens. Even though the channel didn’t always show them in order, I still watched faithfully. Then I went to Jamaica one summer and realized that THEY showed it TOO!! I was done. When dopeness crosses seas, then you just know you’re dealing with “Hot Fiyah.” THAT was how I felt about the Thundercats.

    I recently read that Cartoon Network is re-launching Thundercats next year. With all the advances in technology and graphics, I know it won’t be the same as 1985. I don’t expect it to be. I DO expect it to be “HOT WUK!!” I’ma put Cartoon Network on notice if they half-step this cartoon. And that is the end of my rant.

   Did you grow up with the Thundercats? Is my love for them totally “too much?” It’s fine, you can tell me I’m crazy, BUT don’t tell me too loudly. I might not be able to handle it.

    Relax, Relate, Release… It’s Friday..

   Peace and Love, Nick

Comments
11 Responses to “So Fine Let’s Rewind…”
  1. Richard Brown says:

    WOMAN UP….YES YOUR CRAZY….LOL….JOKEEEEEE!

  2. I have met a child named Cheetarah. She was absolutely beastly on the T-Ball field.

  3. I never watched Thundercats. I was about 2 during the last season, so I didn’t really have the chance to catch it. By the time I got to the right age, I don’t think they even had reruns coming on that much. But I definitely mess with the theme song.

    I love the Mortal Kombat & Killer Instinct references #memories

    And don’t think that Hollywood wouldn’t dare take Thundercats and make a movie of it. They have The Smurfs and Yogi Bear coming out. They will continue to rape and pillage our childhoods until there’s nothing left. They haven’t done a Thundercats movie yet, but it’s only a matter of time. You’ve been warned.

  4. max says:

    I have nothing to contribute to a discussion about Thundercats, as you know.
    I’ll be back when you’re talking about Jem and The Holograms.
    She is truly outrageous.

    • MsEsquire77 says:

      Jem is the absolute truth! I was just singing some of the songs with my BFF today. I found the entire series on DVD and gave it to her for her birthday last year. I should have burned a copy for myself.

  5. ComicBookGuy says:

    Nickerz, you rock. It is good to know a woman other than my sister watched Thundercats. I had the Lion-O and Mumm-Ra action figures as a kid. When Cartoon Network reaired ThunderCats and Voltron, I was 5 years old again. I got the ThunderCats comic in paperback that came out some years ago. Watching that cartoon takes me to a happy place whenever I watch. “ThunderCats are on the move, ThunderCats are loose.” Bad a$$ theme song.

  6. MsEsquire77 says:

    This entire post made my inner-child smile! I need to find a Thundercats t-shirt…and G.I. Joe and He-Man. Good times 🙂

  7. keisha brown says:

    @max..my e-sis!!! in fact..where is Gem on this post??
    *paging Truly Outrageous…;)

    but back to the topic at hand. your love is not misplaced. and i stand by the belief that the reason why kids are soo unruly and rude is because they dont have real cartoons teaching them great things like ours did.

    and now you know..cuz knowing IS half the battle.

Leave a comment